The Little Free Library Comes to Humber College in Etobicoke

 

Obviously, sharing books with others is a HUUUUUUGGGGGEEEE part of my life: at school I’m always suggesting reading choices for my students and I’m constantly asked what I’m reading; on this blog, I write letters in the books I read and put them back into circulation through the Toronto Public Library system; and, I partake in the “Book Drop” – where I leave a book I own and have read in a public space for someone else to enjoy. So, naturally, I have always been enamored with the Little Free Library! Based on Ted Bol’s simple idea of creating a small space (sometimes nothing more than a physical box) where one can simply ‘take a book, leave a book’, this movement is growing increasingly popular all over the world. And finally, it’s in my neighborhood!

little free libraries

little free libraries (Photo credit: davidsilver)

Humber College’s Lakeshore campus is launching a Little Free Library in Etobicoke!!!!! As of June 4, there will be two birdhouse-shaped repositories where people can donate and take a book or two or three…

Tentative plans for the libraries’ locations are at 3199 Lakeshore Blvd W and in front of the Tim Horton’s on Col. Samuel Smith Park Drive (Kipling turns into this road south of Lakeshore). You know I will be there with bells on, or at least books under my arm! I will definitely post a photo of my first book drop there!

Libby

 

 

Enhanced by Zemanta

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Drop, Book Related

Send me a note!