Crazy Rich Asians Photo Post #1: Awfully Chocolate

Awfully Chocolate Box

Reading Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan reminded me of some of the great places and experiences I had this past summer in Singapore! Awfully Chocolate was one of them.

OK, for clarification, I just finished Crazy Rich Asians  by Kevin Kwan. The book is set around Singapore’s  “biggest wedding of the year”, and involves 4 generations of Chinese business tycoons jockeying for ultimate position. It reads like Downton Abbey for the 20-something jet-set: a light read full of uber-wealthy back-stabbers, suck-ups and crabs! I loved it because it was indulgent and because it reminded me of my trip to Singapore last July. So, I went through my photos and I’ve included some from my trip that correspond to the places Kwan mentions in the book (like the shot above I took at Awfully Chocolate).

Here’s the quote from Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan:

The quote about Awfully Chocolate in Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan

The quote about Awfully Chocolate in Crazy Rich Asians

And here’s my note:IMG_2314

When my friend Anjali needed a birthday cake this summer she declared that there was only one place in Singapore to buy it: Awfully Chocolate. The English teacher in me recoiled! Clearly translation had failed: “in an unpleasant or bad manner” was not the kind of chocolate I wanted. Why not “extremely”, “intensely”, even “delightfully”? Nope…Singapore’s #1 cake shop is Awful! But the cakes really are awesome!

Libby

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Travel

Send me a note!

