Books about Living off the grid

[Book Jacket Letter Context: I’ve been reading a ton of living-off-the-grid books in the last few weeks. I guess the polar vortex really did affect me on some level! By far, the best (and quirkiest) I’ve read is Off On our Own by Ted Cairns but if you have ANY recommendations, let me know. In the mean time, I’ve attached a copy of the following letter in each of the books I’ve read about sustainable living. See the books at the bottom of this post.]

Dear Like-Minded Individual! (Of course you are – we are reading the same books, after all!)

My absolute favourite poem is “The Lake Isle of Innisfree” by W. B. Yeats. In case you haven’t read it, let me indulge you:

The Lake Isle of Innisfree by W. B. Yeats

The Lake Isle of Innisfree by W. B. Yeats

I have loved this poem since I was 8. Seriously. And in my deep heart’s core, I have always dreamed of a temporary escape – some place to live hermit-like in the woods – completely off the grid (as much as that is possible in this day and age.) Naturally that complicates the whole blogging thing, but it’s still a dream for at least a few weeks each year. Which explains why I’m reading this book.

I have a proposal for you:

You and I live in the same city. We clearly have a sustainable vision in common. Let’s meet up for coffee or tea or organic roasted chicory root (that’s a joke) and share our thoughts. I’d love to hear from you.

Libby

image

Books that contain this letter:

Off On Our Own: Living Off-Grid in Comfortable Independence: One Couple's "Learn as We Go" Journey to Self-Reliance

Off On Our Own: Living Off-Grid in Comfortable Independence: One Couple’s “Learn as We Go” Journey to Self-Reliance – Read this one!

Crafting Log Homes Solar Style: An Inspiring Guide to Self-Sufficiency

Crafting Log Homes Solar Style: An Inspiring Guide to Self-Sufficiency

The Passive Solar Design and Construction Handbook

The Passive Solar Design and Construction Handbook

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Non-fiction, Poetry

Send me a note!

