Book Drop: Half-Blood Blues at THE ARTIST PROJECT

Half-blood Blues by Esi Edugyan

Half-blood Blues by Esi Edugyan

On Saturday night, I went to The Artist Project at the Better Living Centre. Showcasing the work of more than 250 contemporary (and mostly local) artists, it was an inspiring show, even if my head was spinning by the second aisle thanks to the over-stimulation. I don’t know much about art, and I can’t draw to save my life but that didn’t stop me from doing my own art installation at the show. I call it: Book Drop Half-Blood Blues! It was high time for a book drop, and a room full of creative types seemed like the perfect place to leave a great Canadian novel about jazz. So, as I was leaving I pulled out Esi Edugyan’s Half-Blood Blues, which is currently on the Canada Reads 2014 list, and executed the perfect book drop.

Book Drop Half-Blood Blues in action.

Book Drop Half-Blood Blues in action.

Why, perfect? After I placed the book on one of the benches at the show, I wandered down the centre aisle and pretended to admire a massive red sculpture while really watching to see who picked up my book. You can imagine my horror when a member of the cleaning staff came by and immediately veered towards the book. She read my tulip note (“BOOK DROP! I enjoyed reading this book…now it’s your turn”) and then (YAY!) moved on without removing the book.  Two minutes later a young woman with shoulder-length hair picked it up (at least that’s what I think happened from an obstructed view 300 feet away). But still perfect because it was the first time I actually got to witness someone picking up my book!

Here’s the note:

Book Drop Note

Book Drop Note

  • If you want to find out more about the show, my friend Trish Boon’s review is posted here.
  • Canada Reads at the Library! (talesfromanopenbook.wordpress.com)
2 Comments

Filed under Book Drop, Books, Canadian Books

2 responses to “Book Drop: Half-Blood Blues at THE ARTIST PROJECT

  1. ( I so hope I find one of your books some day!!!)

    Like

  2. I love your ideas! Artistic literary intervention. So cool!

    Like

Send me a note!

