The Fault in our Stars by John Green

new 116A letter after reading The Fault in our Stars, (or “A brief note in which I explain how I exploit my students’ love of reading”)

January 9, 2014

I brought this copy of The Fault in our Stars to school with me today. Every student who saw me carrying it stopped to tell me how good it is (like I didn’t already know). Some students positively gushed about the book and one of my students said that she had ‘bawled profusely’ while finishing the book, and when her mother wanted to know why she was crying so hard, she simply handed her mother the book. Her mom read it…and promptly bawled profusely too.

So, I asked a few of my students in class today to write a note if they had read the book and I would include them with my own letter. OK, it’s not really exploiting their love of reading – but they are so damn cute and earnest when they love a book that I thought I would share two of their notes here with you. I LOVE the fact that both my grade 7 students and I can read the same book and get the same messages and feelings from it. Although, I will be the first to admit it: their notes are way cuter than mine!

Libby 
new 119
new 118

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Letters, Young Adult

Send me a note!

