When Fiction and Life Converge, or Who Are you Andrew Martin, Part 2

Not too long ago, I stumbled upon a copy of Journey to the West that contained Andrew Martin’s business card.  Here’s the posting I wrote on November 13th:

Do you know Andrew Martin?

While I have only ever found ONE note in anything I’ve borrowed from the library, I constantly find printed due date slips that are ages old, or bookmarks. This week I found a business card for Andrew Martin. So I Googled him and I checked LinkedIn, and I can’t find anything about him. But the real question is: why did someone reading Journey to the West by Wu Cheng’en, use his business card as a a bookmark. Were they reading Chinese Mythology in the hardware store where Andrew works? Did they meet ‘Andy’ socially and tuck his business card into the book they were reading at the time? And lastly, is it really creepy if I call the number on the card? Scratch that last question, I know the answer.
So, no letter today – but I did put my email on the business card and left it inside!
Libby

You can imagine my surprise when I noticed a lot of people were using the search term Andrew Martin and coming to my lil’ ol’  posting. I didn’t really get it… UNTIL today. Today, as I prepared to write my response to The Humans by Matt Haig, it suddenly dawned on me that the main character in The Humans is Professor Andrew Martin. Which is a pretty uncanny coincidence. Or fated. Or maybe even, an alien strategy! If you have read The Humans, you will understand the joke.

I am no means a sci-fi reader, but I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed The Humans, (probably because I am one) but mostly because Haig writes with humour and compassion. The book is full of great insight on all things human – good or bad. It’s a quirky little book from a man whose work has been called “delightfully weird” by the press. I concur. And from now on I will see ‘signs’ in everything!

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Send me a note!

