Advice to the reader of Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

To steal a quote from Dante, and then mangle it beyond almost all recognizable form:

image

ALL DISBELIEF SUSPEND, YE WHO ENTER HERE!

Seriously. Because once you decide to buy into the plot of Gillian Flynn’s disturbing and yet riveting thriller Gone Girl, you are in for a crazy ride. I’m not one for contemporary thrillers, but when not one but 3 people mentioned the book to me in the span of a week, I gave in and started reading…with the skepticism of a literary snob. But very quickly I realized two things: 1. I like Flynn’s prose, and 2. She baits the hook with expertise. Pretty soon I wanted to get over my prejudices against the thriller and commit to seeing the story through to its ending. And the shift in attitude made all the difference.

If you like thrillers, you will love this one from start to finish. If you’re like me, and take a lot of convincing when it comes to the premise of the book and its possibilities and probabilities,  please, take a deep breath, let go, and really enjoy this book!

Libby

1 Comment

Filed under Books

One response to “Advice to the reader of Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

  1. I’ve heard so much about this book, I can’t wait to read it. I think I’ll move it up in the inventory to about January 2014. 🙂

    Like

Send me a note!

