The Greatest Stories Ever Told (from a self-professed heathen)

The Testament of Mary is an intense read!

The Testament of Mary is an intense read!

[Context for this Book Jacket Letter: a note tucked in the back page of Man Booker-nominated The Testament of Mary by Colm Tóibín – a really well constructed retelling of the events leading up Jesus’ death and rebirth according to Mary, Mother of God]

test

October 21, 2013

I hope you enjoyed this short but intense read as much as I did. I’m glad we stuck it out.

Although I’m not religious, I enjoy Bible-based books. Here are some of my favourites:

image
Best Fictional Works inspired by the Bible

Not Wanted on the Voyage by Timothy Findley – a totally unique magic realism take on Noah’s fun family trip. This book also explains the terrible ‘truth’ behind the demise of the unicorn. 5/5 Stars

Not Wanted on the Voyage

My favourite cover of Not Wanted on the Voyage

The Red Tent by Anita Diamant – possibly the best on the list. You have to read this book. It’s the story of Dinah and the daughters of Jacob, giving the previously silent women of the Bible a voice. 5/5 stars

Cover of "The Red Tent: A Novel"

Cover of The Red Tent: A Novel

The Journey of the Magi by T. S. Eliot – I love this dramatic monologue, especially when it’s performed well. See the poem and listen to it at The Poetry Archive.

And lastly, Paradise Lost by John Milton (although I haven’t read it in 20 years). Maybe not my first choice for a light read, but an instructive (learn blank verse!) and intelligent take on the “Fall of Man!”

Cheers, Libby!

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Send me a note!

