On travelling alone

a good book and getting a seat in an empty row on the plane - who could ask for anything more!

a good book and getting a seat in an empty row on the plane – who could ask for anything more!

This letter is inspired by Wild by Cheryl Strayed – a book describing Strayed’s 1000 mile hike on the Pacific Crest Trail. The letter is a bit more emotive than most of my other letters, but being alone paired with meeting so many fellow travellers has made me a bit more open to my feelings. I mean in the last two weeks I’ve met a Dutch woman and her English boyfriend who met in Afghanistan, and lived there in very hard circumstances and are now taking a well-deserved trip, an Irish woman who is heading for a year in Australia, and even fellow Canadians who are making a life in Singapore. It’s been really wonderful, and shown me that we are all on a similar path.

But the coolest thing about this letter is that for the first time, I will be leaving the book somewhere for the next solo traveller to find. Now I just need to figure out where to leave it!!!!

July 19, 2013

Solo traveller far from home:

If you are reading this book then there is a reason for your journey. Though maybe only you know it.

If you are reading this letter then the doubts you are having have been had before…by me…by many.

Know that though you travel solo you are never truly alone.

Others have walked before you on the same path; others will follow; others will meet you on it from all directions, just as Wild describes.

But no-one will walk it in exactly the same way. And that is why we’re here, so – don’t despair.

Be at peace with yourself.

Libby

2 Comments

Filed under Books, Non-fiction, Travel

2 responses to “On travelling alone

  1. Trevor

    Libby,

    I arrived at An Bang Homestay on July 26th and stayed only a night, though I could have easily flopped on that daybed all summer. Your book traveled with me from Hoi An to Sapa, and back to Hanoi, where I had been living since June as a medical research assistant, and solo traveler, far from home.

    Your book now sits next to me in my bedroom in San Francisco, where I returned this weekend. I started my second year of medical school yesterday, and already miss my journey.

    I plan to leave the book somewhere in the city, for someone else on their own adventure, but am still searching for the right place.

    Thank you for your note. I hope you continue to leave them wherever life takes you.

    Trevor

    Like

    • Trevor,

      thank you so much for replying! It means a lot to me that you took the time to respond – it made my trip to Southeast Asia complete! I hope that the book finds another reader in San Francisco, and goes off on another great adventure. Good luck with school; I go back to teaching high school next week, and sadly, my big summer adventure feels like a long way off! But, as all travelers know, the end of one quest only means the beginning of another.

      Like

Send me a note!

