Books on Tour: Singapore #2

The biggest problem with travelling is that there is always so much to see and do that you NEVER get to sit down and relax and read. Not that I’m complaining – but it has taken me more than 2 weeks to finish Wild by Cheryl Strayed (and not for lack of trying). But between trips to Malaysia, the Raffles Hotel, MacRitchie Park, and the various Quays in Singapore, I can barely read three pages before falling asleep.

Still the book has been totally perfect for this initial push of my travels. So, I’m going to share two of my favourite quotes and then post my letter separately.

Quote 1: This section of the book focuses on the beginning of Strayed’s journey and it spoke volumes to me as one who had just begun her own solo journey.

quote from page 50 of Wild

quote from page 50 of Wild – taken in Langkawi, Malaysia

Quote 2:

quote from page 119

quote from page 119, taken in Singapore

While it does get a bit lonely travelling from place to place and going to galleries alone, I am having a wonderful time. And it is true, I do often feel like my real self is coming out the more places I visit.

Libby

Leave a comment

July 18, 2013 · 10:47 pm

Send me a note!

