Books on Tour: Singapore

Singapore

“…It was late afternoon in Mid-July…”

(What a perfect time to start a journey)

July 9, 201

As I write this, I am sitting on a chair by the pool…in Singapore!

Yes, I finally saved up enough money to get away from Toronto for 5 WHOLE weeks this summer and visit one of my best friends in Southeast Asia. I’ve been here since July 5th, and as Toronto is suffering massive flooding right now, I think it’s the best decision I’ve ever made. Singapore is a beautiful and modern city with massive skyscrapers and some very impressive urban planning. I’ve already hit several of the places to see: The Singapore Zoo, Marina Barrage and Gardens by the Bay where the Supertrees totally impress (see photos below).

The pool where I'm staying in Singapore. Perfect!

The pool where I’m staying in Singapore. Perfect!

The Supertrees at Gardens by the Bay are metal structures that contain hundreds of plants growing around the metal. At night they are lit and gorgeous.

The Supertrees at Gardens by the Bay are metal structures that contain hundreds of plants growing around the metal. At night they are lit and gorgeous.

A view of the Flyer from across the bay.

A view of the Flyer from across the bay.

Of course, I never travel without a book, so for the next four weeks, I will continue with my Book Jacket Letters while on vacation. It involves a little more ingenuity: I’ve brought several books from Canada, and will continue to write notes, etc., but then will leave the books in random places for fellow travellers to stumble upon (hopefully, that won’t literally happen!) The first book on my list seems like a perfect way to start a solo adventure: Wild by Gayle Strayed.

The book is about Strayed’s 1000 mile hike from California to Washington State on the Pacific Crest Trail and documents the family tragedies that led up to the ‘hike’ and the positive outcome on the other side. While I’m certainly not dealing with the weighty emotional baggage Strayed carried, I can totally appreciate the need to challenge yourself and at times do some serious adventuring to get out of your head and into your heart.

Wish me luck,

Libby

Leave a comment

Filed under Biography, Books, Non-fiction

Send me a note!

