How To Steal Like an Artist!

Steal like an Artist

May 10, 2013

Some books beg for a visceral response. Steal Like an Artist by Austin Kleon is one of them. I don’t know if it’s the design (all that white space just waiting to be filled), but as I read, I couldn’t NOT respond. Next time, Austin, only write on one side – let us write on the other!

Steal like an artist sticky #2

Idea #1 from SLAA: “It’s one of my theories that when people give you advice, they’re really just talking to themselves in the past.”

Sticky #2: And it’s one of my theories that when people ask for advice they will ultimately do what they were going to do anyway. They are just looking for an opinion that matches their own.

Steal like an artist Sticky #3

Idea #2 from SLAA: “Google everything. I mean everything. Google your dreams, Google your problems. Don’t ask a question before you Google it. You’ll either find the answer or you’ll come up with a better question.”

Sticky #3: We are a society driven by the need to get the RIGHT answer; if we don’t know it, we assume that someone else does. This works great for the millions of little questions we ask automatically. But be wary of the RIGHT answer. It may not be right for you.

Steal like an Artist Sticky #4 and #5

Idea #3 from SLAA: “I have two desks in my office – one is “analog” and one is “digital”. The analogue desk has nothing but markers, pens, pencils, paper, index cards, and newspaper. Nothing electronic is allowed on that desk. This is where most of my work is born…”

Sticky #4:I write things on paper and sticky notes and put them up on the wall. Everyone thinks I’m nuts, or trying to solve a murder case, but it keeps my creative ideas front of mind.

Sticky #5: What to you do?

Steal like and Artist Sticky #6

Idea #4 from SLAA: “The work you do while you procrastinate is probably the work you should be doing for the rest of your life.” – Jessica Hische

Sticky # 6: BEST ADVICE EVER! (I garden!)

1 Comment

Filed under Book Picks!, Books

One response to “How To Steal Like an Artist!

  1. I am so inspired by the way you did this review. Just wonderful! Thanks for being creative. : ) Steal like an artist!

    Like

Send me a note!

