An Open Letter to Jackie Siegel, the Queen of Versailles

The Queen of Versailles

April 13, 2013

Dear Jackie,

When I ordered The Queen of Versailles from the library, I knew a little bit about your (or rather, Lauren Greenfield’s) documentary. I knew it was about a billionaire couple named Siegel and how they lost a fortune with the 2008 economic crisis.

And when I actually picked up the DVD, I saw that all the reviews said it was hilarious, but you didn’t look funny. You looked ridiculous.

You’re posing for the camera in front of a monstrous house that must be the offspring of The White House and the Lincoln Memorial. You’re smiling with a smile that says sugar, and two eyes that say daggers, wearing a very small silk tank over short shorts, and carrying a dog in one arm and a glass of champagne in the other. And the more I looked at you, the more I thought that you deserved to lose all that money…and more. I thought that any woman who marries a man thirty years her senior deserves to be knocked down a peg or two. I thought what millions of people think every time they watch one of the Real Housewives of Wherever: YOU ARE A COMPLETE FAKE!

And when the movie started and I saw your house and your staff of 19, and watched you host the Miss America contestants at your home, and saw your 90,000 sq. foot home dominating the Floridian landscape, those feelings grew stronger.

But somewhere halfway through the movie, as I watched you trying to maintain your youth – through action and injections and your STUPID high heels that you wore onto a construction site, and I watched your husband age by the interview, his hair more grey, his eyes more baggy, I started to change my mind. Suddenly what I was seeing wasn’t luxury, but a huge price to pay. And all that isolation, and lack of intimacy made me realize that we are all the same. At the end of the day, all we want is to be loved.

So, now I still resent your millions, if not billions of dollars, and your posh lifestyle, and yeah, I would trade you for a month, but I no longer think you deserve to lose it. Because I feel kinda sorry for you.

Libby

2 Comments

Filed under Letters, Movies

2 responses to “An Open Letter to Jackie Siegel, the Queen of Versailles

  1. Anonymous

    Oh how, very terrible . How can you enjoy each day , smiling upon your servants? Have multiple children only because you will have help. Do you even have a little clue of what the rest of the world faces.? You are a travesty and a tragedy to behold. I’m sorry that i wasted my time on such waste.

    Like

  2. Sam S

    I’m disgusted at what self centered pple these Seigels are. They thought hard by tricking pple that actually worked hard for their money! These poor kids being brought up with lack of ethics or morals. What you Seigels have now you will never have after death for it is easier for a camel to enter the eye of a needle than a rich man to enter the kingdom of heaven. Enjoy your riches now. I will pray for u pple. Still doesn’t change my disgust over the fact that u r just white trash with a lot of money…. For now. Until death or the next stock market crash.

    Like

Send me a note!

