Before you Watch Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close…Read this.

Extremely Close and Incredibly LoudApril 8, 2013

More than a decade after THE WORST DAY, we have arrived at a time when references to 9/11 are everywhere (because I hate the word ubiquitous): The Time Traveller’s Wife, When God was a Rabbit, and Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close. And I know that people complain of being tired of hearing, reading, and watching the same story unfold over and over again in books and on film. And, in that sense the film version of Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close was exactly what I expected: a letdown. Because it’s true – the book is ALWAYS better.

Wait – did I just say that?  No, let me correct myself.

Jonathan Safran Foer’s book, Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close  CHANGED MY LIFE!

Not the story.  Not his version of the 9/11 truth.

But when I read the book, it made me see books in a whole new way, in a visceral way. It was amazing. I had no idea that a novel could use graphic elements and photographs and typography to convey a message that would not only enhance the book but elevate it.

It really did change the way I viewed fiction, and reading, and writing. So please…don’t watch the film.  Or don’t JUST watch it. Go read the book. Scratch read. Go experience it.

Libby

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Movies

Send me a note!

